Department Awards

Every year the Department of Psychiatry recognizes the achievements of our residents, fellows, graduate students, and faculty members with a number of departmental awards.

Abraham Miller Undergraduate Teaching Award

Nominees:

Samuel Law

Michael Mak

Jovana Martinovic

Winner:

Michael Mak

Allen B. Tennen Award for Excellence in the Teaching and Supervision of Psychotherapy

Nominees:

Ianet Ellis

Edred Flak

Ken Fung

Barry Gilbert

Tim Guimond

Lance Hawley

Kar Ming Lee

Dana Ross

Christian Schulz-Quach

Ari Zaretsky

Winner:

Tim Guimond

Child and Youth Mental Health Community Experience Award in the Division of CYMH

Winner:

Bushra Khan

Cleghorn Award in Schizophrenia Studies

Winner:

Sally Wu, Jianmeng Song and Emily Smith

Department of Psychiatry Award for Best Accomplishment by a Fellow

Nominees:

Nicholas Ainsworth

Lucy Barker

Victor Tang

Winner:

Lucy Barker

Department of Psychiatry Award for Forensic Psychiatry Subspecialty Excellence in Teaching

Nominees:

Paul Benassi

Misha Hartfeil

Winner:

Paul Benassi

Department of Psychiatry Award for Resident Teaching in Undergraduate Education

Nominees:

John Aoun

David Freedman

Tina Guo

(Selina) Ling Zeng

Winner:

(Selina) Ling Zeng

Department of Psychiatry Award in Neuroscience Residency: Outstanding Resident in Neuroscience Research

Winner:

Brett Jones

Department of Psychiatry Division of Geriatric Psychiatry Resident Award

Nominees:

Ari Cuperfain

Andrew Namasivayam

Winner:

Ari Cuperfain

Department of Psychiatry Psychotherapy Award for Academic Excellence

Nominees:

Diane Philipp

Daisy Singla

Winner:

Daisy Singla

Department Awards (cont'd)

Donald Wasylenki Award for Best Sociocultural Psychiatry Grand Rounds

Nominees:

Finola D'Souza

Tina Guo

Melissa Lee

Winner:

Melissa Lee

Dr. Allan Kaplan Graduate Award

Winner:

Brett Jones

Dr. Graham Glancy and Dr. Cheryl Regehr Research Award

Winner:

Lily Van

Ennis Scholarship in Medicine for Chronic Non-Cancer Pain

Winner:

Jeffrey Wieskopf

Fred Lowy Award in Psychosomatic Medicine, Resident or Fellow

Winner:

Adriano Mollica

George Voineskos Mentorship Award in Psychiatry

Nominees:

Daniel Blumberger and Gerasimos Konstantinou

Janet Ellis and John Aoun

Mitesh Patel and John Aoun

Ayal Schaffer and Mark Sinyor

Etienne Sibille and Thomas D. Prévôt

Peter Szatmari and Danielle Baribeau

Winner:

Peter Szatmari and Danielle Baribeau

Henry Durost Award for Excellence in Creative Professional Activity

Nominees:

Ralph Lewis

Rosalie Steinberg

Nadiya Sunderji

Treena Wilkie

Winner:

Ralph Lewis

Ivan L. Silver Award for Excellence in Continuing Mental Health Education

Winner:

Department of Psychiatry Online Platform Planning

Committee

The Julius, Dorota and Zofia (Zosia) Frist Memorial Prize in Neuropsychopharmacology

Winner:

Alysha Sultan

Kevin Gordon Rankin Memorial Award

Nominees:

Tina Guo

Nikhita Singhal

Winner:

Tina Guo

Man Pang Lau Award In Psychiatry

Nominees:

Bushra Khan

Nikhita Singhal

Victor Tang

Siqi Xue

Sharon Yeung

Winner:

Bushra Khan

Department Awards (cont'd)

Marie Mara Award for Resident Advocacy

Nominees:

Matt Boyle

Sherryl Dizon

Sia Maro

Yanying Zhou

Winner:

Matt Boyle

Mary Seeman Award for Clinical Excellence in the Department of Psychiatry

Nominees:

Tara Burra

Alicja Fishell

Jose Silveira

Winner:

Jose Silveira

Medical Alumni Association Liz Gillespie Award for Best Academic Paper in Child and Youth Mental Health

Nominees:

Bushra Khan

Siqi Xue

Winner:

Bushra Khan

Paul E. Garfinkel Award for Best Fellowship Supervision

Nominees:

Venkat Bhat

Colin Shapiro

Claire De Souza

Winner:

Venkat Bhat

Paul E. Garfinkel Prize for Excellence in Resident Leadership

Winners:

David Freedman and Nikhita Singhal

Paul Steinhauer Award for Best Postgraduate Teacher in Child and Youth Mental Health

Winner

Cintia Padoin - Awarded posthumously

Resident Psychotherapy Award: Best Clinical Case Report Submitted by a Resident

Nominees:

Iline Guan

Bushra Khan

Bahar Orang

Winner:

Iline Guan

Robin Hunter Postgraduate Teaching Award

Nominees:

Sarah Bush

Philip Gerretsen

Lance Hawley

Ishrat Husain

Christopher Kitamura

Jody Morita

Christian Schulz-Quach

Winner:

TBA

Robin Hunter Memorial Award

Winner:

Siqi Xue

Zofia Pakula Social Justice Award

Nominees:

Maggie Hulbert

Bushra Khan

Nikhita Singhal

Siqi Xue

Winner:

Maggie Hulbert